2021 AVJennings NSW Open

2021 AVJennings NSW Open

The New South Wales Open will be held at Concord Golf Club between the 25th and 28th March 2021.

About the Tournament

The NSW Open is an annual four round, 72-hole tournament. 144 players will commence the tournament and play one round on each of the first two days. The leading 60 professional golfers and any amateurs on the same score after the second round will qualify to play the 3rd and 4th rounds. In the event of a tie for first place, a sudden death play-off will take place on the 18th hole until a winner is determined.

The winning golfer will not only take home the Kel Nagle Cup but also a share of the $400,000 in prize money.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the NSW Open with admission prices starting at $20.

History of the New South Wales Open

The New South Wales Open Golf Championship dates back to 1931. First held at Manly Golf Club, the NSW Open was a ‘close’ format meaning it was only open to residents of New South Wales. At the inaugural event, three golfers tied for first place, Tom Howard, Sam Richardson and Charlie Gray. Charlie Gray eventually won the event after a 36-hole play-off.

During the Great Depression, the NSW Open captured the public’s attention as cheering on heroes at sporting events was something to look forward to during this time. The NSW Open eventually became known as the tournament that everyone wanted to play, and it soon turned out to be one of the big three golfing tournaments alongside the Australian Open and the Australian PGA Championship.

In 1958, the NSW Open attracted the best of Australia’s golfing elite along with appearances by some of the best players in the world and has continued to do so since.

The NSW Open Championship boasts the names of many of Australia’s finest golfers including World Golf Hall of Fame inductees Kel Nagle, Greg Norman and Peter Thomson; golfing legends Norman Von Nida, Eric Cremin and Frank Phillips, and amateurs including five-time champion Jim Ferrier, Owen Beldham and Tony Gresham.

Other renowned golfers who have won the NSW Open include Ian Baker-Finch, Ted Ball, Josh Younger, Peter O’Malley, Craig Parry and Billy Dunk to name a few.

The NSW Open forms part of the ISPS HANDA PGA Tour of Australasia.